short story, Travel

My Subway Stories – NY Tales from the Underground part 11

Gotham vs. Windy City

E train
 

It was another energetic Friday morning in New York City. Riding on the uptown M Sixth Avenue Local subway train, I was having a great time teasing my Chicago native friend, Cory, about the New York Mets’ recent four-game sweep of the Chicago Cubs and advancing to the World Series. Clad in my blue and orange New York Mets jacket and matching 2015 National League Champions cap, I felt like the newest member of the team.

“We’re going to the World Series!” I taunted him. “Let’s go, Mets! The pennant will rise! New York City is the greatest city on the planet! Now, the whole world knows why Chicago is the Second City! I was five years old the last time the Mets won the World Series. This 2015 Mets team reminds me a lot of the 1986 championship Mets team with their strong pitching and a team spirit. Sorry Cory, this is not Back to the Future 2. We’re living in the real 2015!”

“From a Cubs fan, thank you New York Mets for a great playoff series!” Cory continued. “That was a tough one! I wish your “new team” the best of luck in the World Series!”

“Thank you.” I smiled. “And for the record, the New York Mets is not my new team! I’m supporting them because they are representing the city of New York in the World Series!”

“Chicago is still the better city.” Cory expressed. “Our skyline is better and we had Michael Jordan, Oprah Winfrey, Al Capone, and Kanye West!”

I laughed. “No, Chicago is not better than New York. I am going to break it down for you in three words: No. 1 is pizza, No. 2 is culture, and No. 3 is opportunities. Also, we have the iconic Empire State Building, Madison Square Garden, Babe Ruth, John Gotti, and the greatest rapper ever Jay-Z! Frank Sinatra’s ‘New York, New York’ is the better anthem!”

“Whatever, ‘Mind Kind of Town’ sounds better!” Cory shot back.

The train stopped at the 47th–50th Streets – Rockefeller Center subway station. The metallic doors opened. Before I walked off the train, I said to Cory, “I heard that Chicago is the cleanest city in America because it just got swept. Wooo!”

By Shamarie Knight, 23rd Oct 2015

Standard

Leave a Reply

