The Greatest Point Guards

The Point Guard

Point guard (PG), also called the one or point, is one of the standard positions in a regulation basketball game. A point guard has perhaps the most specialized role of any position. They run the team’s offense by controlling the ball and making sure that it gets to the right players at the right time. They can handle and distribute the ball to teammates. The point guard is the floor’s general and vocal floor leaders. A point guard needs always to have in mind the times on the shot clock and the game clock, the score, the numbers of remaining timeouts for both teams, etc.


“Magic” Johnson

_Magic_ Johnson

Earvin “Magic” Johnson Jr. is arguably the greatest point guard the NBA has ever produced. He was the prototype big point guard that could play all five positions, which he did in his rookie season in 1980 when he won the NBA championship and NBA Finals Most Valuable Player Award. His 42-point, 15-rebound, 7-assist, 3-steal performance in that title-clinching Game 6 of the 1980 NBA Finals was probably the best individual performance of all time. “Magic Johnson” is a five-time NBA champion, three-time NBA Finals MVP, three-time NBA Most Valuable Player, and 12-time NBA All-Star. This LA Lakers legend is one of only seven players in history to achieve basketball’s “Triple Crown” – winning an NCAA Championship, an NBA Championship, and an Olympic Gold Medal.


“The Big O”

Oscar Robertson

Oscar Robertson, nicknamed “The Big O”, was the blueprint of a great point guard during the 1960s. He is the NBA’s first legitimate “big guard”, paving the way for other over-sized backcourt players like NBA legend “Magic” Johnson. Oscar Robertson is the best post-up guard and the only NBA player to averaged a triple-double over the first five seasons of his career (1960-65) when the games are strung together. In those 384 games, he averaged an astounding 30.3 points, 10.6 assists, and 10.4 rebounds. Oscar Robertson is an NBA champion, 12-time All-Star, an 11-time member of the All-NBA Team, and the winner of the 1964 MVP award.


Isiah Thomas

Isiah Thomas

Isiah Thomas, nicknamed “Zeke”, was one of the most fearless NBA players on the basketball court. His west side of Chicago swag rubbed off on his “Bad Boys” Detroit Pistons team, which he led to two NBA championships in the 1988–89 and 1989–90 seasons. Isiah Thomas was the smallest and the baddest of the Bad Boys. Behind that friendly big smile of his was an absolute killer ready to take out his opposition in a heartbeat on the hardwood. His objective was to win and that’s all that mattered. Isiah Thomas is the 1990 NBA Finals MVP, 12-time NBA All-Star, and Detroit Pistons all-time leading scorer.


Walter “Clyde” Frazier

Walt Frazier

Walt “Clyde” Frazier is arguably not only the greatest New York Knick of all-time, but also the greatest defensive point guard ever. He was the complete package with his scoring prowess, defense, and leadership. The epitome of a team player and a superb floor general, Walt Frazier led the Knicks to their only two NBA championships in franchise history. What made him an NBA legend was his epic performance in Game 7 of the 1970 NBA Finals. In that game against the LA Lakers, Walt Frazier dropped 36 points, had 19 assists, and five steals. It was one of the greatest moments in NBA history. Walt Frazier is a seven-time NBA All-Star, the 1975 NBA All-Star MVP and holds the New York Knicks record of assists with 4,791.

By Shamarie, 13th Jun 2015



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s