Poetry, Uncategorized

My Generation

I Am A 1980s Baby

The 1980s
 

My generation learned how to create art out of decay.
We pained masterpieces on the subway trains and helped elevate a cultural movement called hip-hop.

My generation was the last generation who learned how to play in the streets.
We were the first who have played video games, and were the last to record songs off the radio on cassettes.

My generation knew how to have fun without having any money.
We will explore the city and find something to do.

My generation spent summer vacation mostly on the block.
We had water fights, cookouts, and talent shows.

My generation was the pioneers of Walkmans, CD players, and the chat rooms.
We learned how to program the VCR, played with Atari, Nintendo, and believed that the Internet would be a free world.

My generation had Thundercats, Transformers, G.I. Joe, Power Rangers, Ninja Turtles, and Saved by the Bell.
We rocked Air Jordan sneakers, oversized baseball caps cocked to the side, Avirex leather jackets, and Timberland boots.

My generation wanted to go Back to the Future in a flying Delorean
We heard President Reagan tell Mikhail Gorbachev to “Tear down this wall!”

My generation had Michael Jordan, Michael Jackson, Mike Tyson, and the WWF.
We witnessed the greatest eras in entertainment and sports.

My generation traveled in cars without the seat belt or airbag, and could live without cell phones.
We were the last to have Rapid and Surface Transit school passes, and the first to use MetroCards.

My generation did not have Myspace, Facebook, Twitter, smartphones, flat screens, MP3, and downloading. Nevertheless, my generation had a great time. I am a 1980s baby!

Standard

Leave a Reply

