Uncategorized

I Hate Nineteen Ninety

1990

 

Rich Porter found dead in Orchard Beach. Weeks later, his little brother Donnell Porter was found dead too. I felt bad for those two guys; Harlem was in tears when they died. The streets were so grimy. I hate Nineteen Ninety!

Mike Tyson lost the undisputed heavyweight championship to James “Buster” Douglas in Tokyo, Japan. Damn, Mike wasn’t mighty. I hate Nineteen Ninety!

A fire due to arson at an illegal social club called “Happy Land” in New York City killed 87 people. Rest in Peace, Heidi! I hate Nineteen Ninety!

The Ultimate Warrior defeated Hulk Hogan to win the WWF Championship at WrestleMania VI at the SkyDome. The outcome didn’t make me happy. I hate Nineteen Ninety!

Crack cocaine was still plentiful in my Harlem neighborhood. There were so many ghostly bodies. I hate Nineteen Ninety!

Neighbors weren’t kindly. I hate Nineteen Ninety!

The Detroit Pistons ousted the Chicago Bulls for the third straight year. They were so feisty. I hate Nineteen Ninety!

I was left back in the third grade. I wanted to disappear like a genie. I hate Nineteen Ninety!

Sting defeated “Nature Boy” Ric Flair for the NWA Heavyweight Championship at the Great American Bash. Flair didn’t have his victory party. I hate Nineteen Ninety!

First, Curtis moved away from the block and then it was Monty. I hate Nineteen Ninety!

John Reisenbach was murdered on Jane Street, which became “A Nightmare on Jane Street” in The New Yorker. The title was timely. I hate Nineteen Ninety!

There were two thousand two hundred and forty-five murders in New York. The city was becoming a murder capital. Staying out late was very unlikely; I hate Nineteen Ninety!

My anxiety was high living in a wild society. I hate Nineteen Ninety!

I couldn’t believe the woman that won the lottery was “Evil Windy”. I hate Nineteen Ninety!

People Weekly voted Tom Cruise “The Sexiest Man Alive”. I hate Nineteen Ninety!

The stress, disappointment, and crime were driving me crazy. I hate Nineteen Ninety!

The start of a new decade wasn’t so lively. I hate Nineteen Ninety!

By Shamarie Knight, 30th Jul 2015

Standard

Leave a Reply

