Uncategorized

A Final Farewell to FAO Schwarz

FAO Schwarz’s Last Day

Wednesday, on July 15, 2015, it was the end of an era for a New York City landmark. Iconic toy store FAO Schwarz closed its door for the final time at 8:00 p.m., becoming another historic New York City attraction to go away. The 45,000-square-foot flagship store announced this past May that it was closing due to high rent prices and increased online competition. Apple will take over FAO Schwarz’s famous space.

Despite the rain early that day, thousands of people including myself visit FAO Schwarz one last time. The Nutcracker costumed sentinels waved and greeted families and took pictures with them. Tourists and locals crowded the floors to get one last glimpse and to grab a final memory.

 

One Last Tour

As I took my tour around FAO Schwarz, many shelves were bare and shoppers scrambled for final purchases. The sight almost reminded me of the holiday season instead of a curtain call. I felt like a kid walking around and taking in the sight of the exclusive toys and high-priced stuffed animals. There was a line of people, young and old, stretched alongside the wall as they waited to dance on the famous Big Piano. Parents recorded their kids dancing on it for the final time with their smartphones. What I found funny was the adults appeared to be more energetic than the youngsters were as they jumped and danced on the Big Piano. FAO Schwarz had a unique ability to make people of all ages have fun.

 

Thanks for the memories

When I finally left FAO Schwarz, I felt sad that future generations of kids, tourists, and New Yorkers will not be able to come to this legendary toy store and experience the magic on 767 Fifth Avenue. I am proud that I was lucky enough to buy toys, play, and take pictures at the famous toy store during the 1980s, 1990s, and early 2000s. It was a big part of my childhood and I am going to miss seeing it.

Thank you, FAO Schwarz, for 29 years of iconic memories and I hope you find a new location in Manhattan soon!

By Shamarie, 17th Jul 2015

Standard

Leave a Reply

