My All-Time Sacramento Kings Dream Team


The Sacramento Kings

Sacramento Kings

The Sacramento Kings are a professional basketball team based in Sacramento, California. They are members of the Pacific Division of the Western Conference in the National Basketball Association (NBA). Originally known as the Rochester Seagrams, The Kings are the only team in the Major professional North American sports leagues located in Sacramento; they play their home games at Sleep Train Arena. Founded in 1923, The Kings are the oldest franchise in the NBA, and one of the oldest continuously operating professional basketball franchises in the nation. They won the NBA title in 1951 by defeating the New York Knicks 4 games to 3. It is the only NBA championship in the franchise’s history.


Oscar Robertson

The Big O

Oscar Robertson is the greatest player in franchise history. Nicknamed the “Big O”, he is the franchise leader in total points (22,009), total assists (7,731), minutes played (33,088) and total win shares (154.2). Famously known for averaging a triple double for the 1961–62 NBA season, with 30.8 points, 12.5 rebounds and 11.4 assists, Oscar Robertson was an elite player in his era. He earned the 1961 NBA Rookie of the Year, 1964 NBA Most Valuable Player, and was a six-time NBA assists leader (1961–1962, 1964–1966, 1969). No other player in Kings’ history comes close to the outstanding production of Oscar Robertson.


“Tiny” Archibald

Nate Archibald

Nate “Tiny” Archibald was one of the most dominant point guards in the NBA during the 1970s. His quickness and speed made him nearly impossible to guard in the open court. While playing for the Cincinnati Royals (Sacramento Kings), he made history in the 1972-73 NBA season by becoming the first and only player in NBA history to lead the league in scoring and assists in the same season. Nate Archibald is a six-time NBA All-Star, the 1981 NBA All-Star Game MVP, and an NBA champion, which he won with the Boston Celtics.


Chris Webber

Chris Webber

Chris Webber was the face of the Sacramento Kings in the early 2000s. He had an instant impact with the team and made them one of the NBA’s top franchises, and NBA title contenders. Chris Webber’s size, strength, quickness, and skills made him one of the premier power forwards in the league. As a Sacramento King, he was named to four straight All-Star teams (1999-00 through 2002-03), All-NBA First Team (2001), and third-team All-NBA once (1999-00). Chris Webber is also one of the franchise leaders in block shots with (553).


DeMarcus Cousins

DeMarcus Cousins

DeMarcus Cousins is the star center for today’s Sacramento Kings. One of the premier big men in the NBA, DeMarcus has the potential to be the best center in the league if he keeps improving every year. His size and footwork makes it difficult for the opposition. In his first season with the Kings in 2011, Cousins was named to the NBA All-Rookie First Team. A 2015 NBA All-Star, DeMarcus Cousins won a gold medal as a member of the United States national team in the FIBA Basketball World Cup in 2014.


Peja Stojakovic

Peja Stojakovic

Peja Stojakovic is perhaps the greatest small forward in franchise history. His spacing, movement without the ball, and marksmanship played a vital part in the success of the championship contending Sacramento Kings in the 2000s. Peja’s skills left an incredible mark on the Kings. He’s first in three-point field goals (1,070), sixth in points scored (9,894), and first in free-throw percentage (.893). Peja Stojakovic is the greatest shooter in Sacramento Kings history.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s