Black History, Uncategorized

Dr. Dre Is Back with Compton: A Soundtrack

The Soundtrack dedicated to Compton

Dr. Dre's Compton
 

16 years after dropping his second classic studio album, The Chronic 2001, which have sold over seven million units in the United States, Dr. Dre is back with his third and final album, Compton: A Soundtrack. The album was released today, August 7, 2015, exclusively on Apple Music and the iTunes Store. Dr. Dre’s new has contributions from Snoop Dogg, Eminem, Kendrick Lamar, and former N.W.A. bandmate Ice Cube.

The upcoming biographical drama film based on the rise and fall of hip-hop group N.W.A, Straight Outta Compton, is set for theatrical release on August 14, 2015, inspired Dr. Dre to record the new album.

“During principal photography of Straight Outta Compton, I felt myself going to the studio and being so inspired by the movie that I started recording an album,” Dre said on The Pharmacy. “I kept it under wraps, and now the album is finished. It’s bananas. It’s an ‘inspired by’ album. It’s inspired by Straight Outta Compton, we’re gonna call the album Compton: The Soundtrack. I’m really proud of this.”

News of Dr. Dre coming out with a new album first broke during an interview with legendary West Coast rapper Ice Cube on August 1, 2015, with Power 99FM when he quoted, “It’s mega. It’s Dr. Dre. It’s what everybody’s been waiting for,”

Detox

Detox was an album that the hip-hop world was eagerly waiting for since 2003. The album was supposed to be Dr. Dre’s highly anticipated follow-up to the multi-platinum selling Chronic 2001. Over the years, singles leaked but there was never an official date when Detox was going to drop. Finally, in November of 2014, Dr. Dre pulled the plug on Detox. With that, it appears that Dre’s Detox has become a legendary unfinished album like 2Pac’s One Nation as one of popular music’s great what-ifs.

Dr. Dre revealed why he scrapped Detox, saying, “This is something you’re not gonna hear many artists say: the reason that Detox didn’t come out was because I didn’t like it. It wasn’t good. The record, it just wasn’t good… I mean seriously, I worked my ass off on it, but I didn’t think I did a good enough job. I couldn’t do that to my fans, I couldn’t do that to myself, to be honest.”

By Shamarie, 7th Aug 2015
Standard

Leave a Reply

