News

Jeter’s Last Home Game for the New York Yankees was “2 Perfect!”

Derek Jeter

This past Thursday night was the last home game for New York Yankees great Derek Jeter. He ended his final game at Yankee Stadium with a walk-off single in the bottom of the ninth inning to give the Yankees a 6-5 win over the Baltimore Orioles. It looked like something out of an American fantasy-drama. The conclusion of the game was too perfect. It was his seventh career walk-off hit and the first since June 8, 2007. It was destined for Derek Jeter to go out this way. He’s DEREK JETER! The bigger the moment, the more Derek Jeter willed himself to impossible greatness. It was phenomenal to watch it unfold!

After getting mobbed by his fellow Yankee teammates, Derek Jeter tipped his Yankee cap to acknowledge the crowd as he took his final bows to every corner of Yankee Stadium. I got Goosebumps as I watched him kneeled down, say a quick prayer at the position he occupied for two decades, and hearing the chants of “Thank you, Jeter!” from a sellout crowd. Former Yankees manager Joe Torre and former teammates Mariano Rivera, Andy Pettitte, and Jorge Posada joined Derek Jeter on the field for the celebration. It was a perfect way for Derek Jeter to ride into the sunset.

“New York, you’ve been with me for the past 20 years.” Derek Jeter continued. “Your grit fueled my will. Your history strengthened my resolve. Your scrutiny exposed my flaws. Your expectation was my inspiration. From my first at bat until my final out, you helped make me who I am. For that, I am forever thankful.”

Thank You, Derek Jeter!

I tip my blue Yankee fitted cap to my favorite shortstop and captain of the New York Yankees. Thank You, Derek Jeter for 20 amazing years as a shortstop of the New York Yankees! Baseball will not be the same without you! And you will be greatly missed!

By Shamarie Knight, 28th Sep 2014

Standard

Leave a Reply

